Meagher County Commissioners

Meagher County is governed by a Board of County Commissioners, consisting of three elected members who serve six-year staggered terms. All legislative, executive and administrative powers and duties of the local government not specifically reserved by law or ordinance to other elected officials reside in the Commission (MCA-7-3-401).

The mission of the Meagher County Commission is to protect the health, safety and welfare of the people of the County, see to the day-to-day operations of the County’s affairs, prepare and manage the annual budget, and set and levy taxes. The Commissioners set policy for County government, represent the County, maintain County property, invest County funds, and authorize and sign all contracts obligating the County.


Ben Hurwitz - Chairman


Herb Townsend - Vice Chair


Rod Brewer - Commissioner